Skip to content

mymindisfine

What's on YOUR mind?

Slowly, buds are coming out on the trees. It’s nature’s reminder to us that there is still an innate desire to live and thrive in this world, polluted as it is with destruction and negative thoughts. Yet I still manage to think that if we were all in a position where our lives were on the line, we would fight to the end to preserve it. I sure would. I have so much to lose and yet so much still to gain.

This morning my friend was telling me how she loves this time of year, when you can still see the skeletal limbs of the trees underneath the sprouting buds of their bony branches. I asked her why she felt this way, especially since most prefer the red, orange and yellow canvas outlining autumn-time highways. “It’s about waking up,” is what she told me.

She put it into such human terms. Waking up, something we all do each day. But have you ever wondered if the trees want to come back each year? Would you wake up each day knowing that you would be discarded for several months of the year? The only time anybody really notices trees anyway is when they bud in the spring and when they dud in the fall. They might make it into a painting or two, but has there ever been a painting worth mentioning in which a single tree was the focal point?

I wonder about all the things these trees have seen. All the unspeakable crimes in long forgotten, out of sight forests. All the blossoming romances on inviting park benches. These trees have looked on as neighbourhoods were built all around them while their siblings were being torn down, replaced by shopping malls and parking lots. Weeks without water and weeks without sun. Chaperones to lost animals with nowhere left to go. With so many branches but no ability to swat at the dogs who urinate without the slightest regard on them.

It’s a bleak existence, a tree might tell you. And yet each year they come back to life. Maybe my friend was right. Maybe it’s all about waking up.

I want to live with that same drive to come back when I feel forgotten.

