Skip to content

mymindisfine

What's on YOUR mind?

So many little things have had to go right for me to be where I am at this very moment. I recognize that I am really indebted to the people who have given me the chance to succeed and thrive; who have given me the chance to understand more about me, how I work and how I fit into this big world. It’s really not that big. We’re all so connected. It’s easy to feel connected for me today.

To my friends who have been here since the very beginning. Back when our parents went to coffee mornings together and we played each week. We may not be as close as we once were. You have taught me to never forget where I started.

To the team mates I’ve had, particularly in hockey when I was growing up. I do feel like I was isolated and an oddball for many years. I was always there at the rink but never invited to anything more, for whatever reason. But I want to thank all of you for the time that we spent together. We did win those championships together. I do credit a lot of the things I’m doing now to the positive experiences that we spent together, and the winning attitude that we created.

To the people I met in high school, both whom I still talk to today and whom I haven’t seen since prom. You were there to see me through my awkward stages of uncivilized afro-edness and burly sideburns to the  months I straightened my hair and wore skinny jeans to school every day. And still tolerated me, if not even liked me.

To the friends I’ve made since I started university, particularly in the last 3 months. I would not be where I am today if not for you. I have made such great strides in terms of my self confidence and the image that I’ve created of myself thanks to you. And while I haven’t broken down in front of you yet, I know you will be there for me when it happens.

To my family who through all the ups and downs are still there for me to this day. For being the rock of my life, the ultimate support group. Even though we disagree. I’m starting to realize that my parents can be my best friends. I think I’m getting to the point where it is more sensible to discuss than to argue; to listen than to explain to. You have taught me manners. You have taught me to respect other people. There are plenty of things that I will take from what you have taught me when the time comes that I will start my own family. But that is not in my plans for the near future. As you have reminded me, there is so much time and opportunity for me right now. I would be foolish to let it slip out of my fingers.

To everyone I have ever met, even if it was only for an instant. Everyone who has ever said a word to me, held eye contact with me, believed in me. You have helped me get to where I am. I’ve never felt more in control of my life, and it is largely due to everyone who has been a part of it.

